The Very Inspiring Blogger Award and Nominations

Amidst all the festivities of the last few weeks it was nice to see my name  and this blog included in a list for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award over on Sensitive and Extraordinary Kids. A huge thank you to Leila who herself is a huge inspiration to many parents of highly sensitive children.very-inspiring-blogger-award We connected almost a year ago through a post I write on my Expat Life with a Double Buggy blog about understanding highly sensitive children. She is also the author of Thank Goodness for Different which I recently reviewed.

Sometimes you are lucky enough to bump into people in the blogging world who have an impact on you.  Leila is one such person. She writes from the heart, and she tells life as a mother with a highly sensitive child as it is. I love reading blog posts that make me think, “Those could have been words out of my own mouth.” Or even better, “I wish I had written that.”

This Happy Sensitive Kids blog is still very much in its baby stage so I am truly delighted to have such a nice nod of appreciation. And so without further ado the award rules:

  • Display the award on your blog
  • Link back to the person who nominated you
  • State 7 things about yourself
  • Nominate other bloggers, link to them, and notify them about their nominations
Photo Credit: Caz G Design

A dream of being a pianist… Photo Credit: Caz G Design

 

So, here are seven random as random can be things about me:

  1. I have a very fine sense of smell. Just like my father.
  2. I want to visit Venice but I’m told it can be a bit smelly (see point 1). Despite that it’s still on my list.
  3.  I have a Bachelors Degree in European Studies and a PostGrad Diploma in Human Resources.
  4. Every day I vow to be a calmer, more patient mother.
  5. My favourite quote is by Gretchen Rubin: “The days are long but the years are short.” I have it pinned by my desk to remind me to enjoy the little moments with my children. (Check out her little video of pure parenting emotion)
  6. I would love to be able to play the piano.
  7. My favourite musician, singer and rock god is Bruce Springsteen. I first saw him perform in Sheffield, England in the 1980s and have been hooked ever since.

So there you have it! And now my nominations – bloggers who have inspired me in some way.

  1. My push to start writing, and then blogging came from Jo Parfitt. Her personal blog about life in Kuala Lumpur is Sunny Interval.
  2. Stuart at Invading Holland who writes about expat life as an accident prone British man in the Netherlands
  3. Leanna of All Done Monkeys is a bicultural and bilingual parenting inspiration.
  4. Olga of The European Mama pushes me to keep thinking about my book, the book I know I need to write for the sake of my sanity.
  5. Giselle has passion and it shines through in her work over at Kids Yoga Stories.
  6. Amanda of Maroc Mama writes from the heart. Her post on expat culture shock was inspiring and heart wrenching.
  7. Farrah of The Three Under  makes travelling and getting the best out of expat life look easy – even with three little boys in tow.
About Amanda van Mulligen

I'm the mother of three highly sensitive children and am also a highly sensitive person. I first heard the term 'highly sensitive' six years ago and started researching - it was my lightbulb moment for sure, the moment it all made sense. I'm on a mission to spread the word about the challenges and joys of parenting, caring for, and educating highly sensitive children, one blog post at a time. I hope you'll join me.
This entry was posted in The Why and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Very Inspiring Blogger Award and Nominations

  1. Wow Amanda! What an introduction. I have tears in my eyes, a smile on ny face and goose bumps on my head. Thank you so much. It means the world to me that you think of me that way.

    And by the way, I say the exact same thing every time I read one of your posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

